"Free the Robots’ forthcoming self-released album, The Balance, might be the man’s freest creation yet, a swirling work of retro-futurist effects, proggy ideals, jagged jazz, and blissful glitch”


Listen: [Carnival feat. Jessie Jones]

[Track List]

1) Flako - Lonely Town
2) Air - Le Soleil Est Pres De Moi (*Dirty Drums)
3) Anika - No One’s There
4) This Heat - Horizontal Hold
5) El p - Stay Down
6) Incredible Bongo Band - Last Bongo In Belgium
7) Khrysis - Rare Bounce
8) Mr. Carmack - Fire
9) Kaytranada - Cry Me a River
10) Los Silvertones - Carmen
11) Adrian Younge - Sirens
12) Quadron - Baby be Mine
13) Latyrx - Latyrx
14) Jai Paul - Track 12
15) Quakers - RIP
16) Insightful - Allah
17) Jeremiah Jae - Rover
18) Jake One - Trap Door
19) Nino Nardini - Tropical
20) Quantic - Dre en Cumbia
21) Al Hirt - Harlem Hernando
22) Madlib - The Rock
23) Dimlite - New, Better Pain
24) Gang of Four - Contract
25) Quakers - Fitta Happier
26) Os Originais de Samba - Tenha Fe Pois Amanha Um Lindo Dia Vai Nascer
27) Lijadu Sisters - Danger
28) Roots Manuva - Witness the Fitness Dub
29) D.R.U.G.S. - Funky Worm
30) Jai Paul - Hundred Thousand Light Years Away
31) The Roots - Peace of Light
32) Madvillain - Savage Beast Instrumental
33) Andre Previn - Executive Party
34) Angelillo & Hamel - Je Vuex Te Dire Une Chanson
35) Dem Hunger - Glue Suit
36) The Black Angels - Yellow Elevator #2

[FREE DOWNLOAD: Santa Ana # 16]

"This record was mainly inspired from my times of solitude… on the train, or a plane… walking around foreign cities with my headphones on… at a random bar somewhere with strangers and language barriers… In meditation, or out in the ocean, paddling into the waves.. this is where i shut everything off to create balance in my life."

-Free The Robots

In-depth interview about the burbs, the restaurant, the music, inspiration, and The Balance between all of this on LACanvas.com

The Crosby Radio Episode #2: General Manager Edition feat. Dante [the GM] + Chris [FTR]. Tune in for a wide array of sounds, current events, travel stories and more. 

Each week on STEMS we ask an artist to break it down for us. By stripping one of their tracks down to its individual components (known as stems), we get a rare glimpse into the artist’s production process.

Step in the studio with Free the Robots for an in-depth, breakdown of “Ophic,” the first official single from “The Balance.”

Free the Robots, the project of Santa Ana native Chris Alfaro, has shared the first taste of his upcoming third album, The Balance, in the form of “Adore.” Alfaro’s past as a beatmaker and DJ is evident in his crunchy, MPC-heavy production—lilting vocals float over a skipping, sidechained beat that never draws too much attention to any single element. Flutes and organ sounds collide in the dense midrange, before the whole thing abruptly cuts out. It’s a crate digger’s approach to melody for sure, and while this has been seen before in the likes of Bibio or Lapalux, Alfaro brings his own touch to the collage by letting melodies develop in favor of quick chops. The Balance, Alfaro’s first full-length since 2010's Control Alt Delete, is planned for a self-release on August 19, but the tracklist and artwork for the SoCal beatmaker’s upcoming LP can be perused before then, after the jump.

[Free Download] via XLR8R

A quick documentary on the music we make feat Daedelus, Mndsgn, Co.Fee, Free the Robots, Sir Froderick, Juj + More

Free the Robots agence musique électronique et hip-hop instrumental avec une pincée de jazz et de musique psychédélique pour des mélodies particulières sur une rythmique dévastatrice… et tout ceci orchestré par un seul humain. Depuis la sortie de Ctrl Alt Delete sur l’étiquette californienne Alpha Pup Records, Free the Robots jouit d’un auditoire partout dans le monde !

See you Saturday July 6 at the OFF Festival (Quebec)

This Saturday at the Sacramento Music Festival, Computer Jay + Free the Robots will be doing a very special duo, soundclash/ live jam set. If you don’t know, get to know Computer Jay. See you soon!